Thoughts on the TV shows I am currently watching

The Mandalorian (Disney+)

I really want to like this one but it lacks a lot of depth right now, and thirty minute episodes is not long enough to do any type of story or character development (especially within the world of Star Wars). That said, they need to speed up some aspects of the show. And let us in on the secret as to what the plot is. Where are we going?

SEE (Apple TV+)

Surprisingly enjoyed the first season. I was unsure of what a show like this would be like, or even what it would be about, but was pleasantly surprised at how well the story and characters were developed in the first season (with only eight episodes). Curious to see what is next in season 2, and kind of worried that this show has potential to turn into the never-ending plot that is similar to The Walking Dead. What is the main point of the show? Restoring vision to those who do not have it (i.e. is there a cure)? Or conquering those who do/don’t have vision? Or just a never ending show of finding new tribes and people to either befriend or destroy?

For All Mankind (Apple TV+)

I’m glad that I have stuck with this one because I think (and desperately hope) that we are getting into something good now. For a while there I thought this was just going to be an equal rights show, but things seem to be moving towards the potential conflict of having two countries on the moon simultaneously not working together (apparently). That said, I am unsure of where this show is going to land ultimately. Other than getting a man to the moon (done), a woman to the moon (done), and beating Russia at whatever they are doing on the moon (in-progress…I think), what is the over arching conflict/goal?

The Morning Show (Apple TV+)

I am enjoying this one the most. Something bad went down at the network and although one guy took the fall for that, there is an inevitable consequence in the works for the network at large. How that plays out and what happens to those involved is the unknown. Do they get away with further coverup or do things come to light and people are held responsible? And what will that look like? Enjoying each episode.

The Crown (Netflix)

I enjoyed the first two seasons and, even with an entirely new cast of the main characters, am continuing to enjoy the third season as-well. The pomp, circumstance, and history draw me in. I tend to watch this show with Wikipedia open on my phone, looking up names, places, and events as they are mentioned. I enjoy learning alongside the dramatized nature of TV when possible, and this show is enjoyable as a form of entertainment and also as an introduction into historical topics I otherwise may never have looked into.

Aaron Aiken @aa